This site uses cookies. You can read how we use them in our privacy policy.

Tel: 020 8467 2280
Office@bwsgirls.org

Safeguarding and Child Protection

Bullers Wood School is committed to safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children and young people and expects all staff and volunteers to share this commitment.

Safeguarding legislation and government guidance define safeguarding as:

  • Protecting children from maltreatment
  • Preventing impairment of children’s mental and physical health or development
  • Ensuring that children are growing up in circumstances consistent with the provision of safe and effective care
  • Taking action to enable all children and young people to have the best outcomes

The school adheres to the following DFE safeguarding documents:

  1. Working Together to Safeguard Children 2018
  2. Keeping Children Safe In Education 2019
  3. The Prevent Duty 2015

The school’s Safeguarding Team consists of:

Designated Safeguarding Lead – Mrs Kim Anderson, Deputy Head Teacher kanderson@bwsgirls.org

 

 

 

 

   Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead – Mrs Marie Hemmings, Assistant Head Teacher, mhemmings@bwsgirls.org

 

 

 

 

 

Additionally each year group also has at least one trained first point of contact for students to approach regarding safeguarding concerns. This will normally be their Head of Year plus additional trained support staff.

Safeguarding First Contacts 2021/22

Year 7: Mrs Sarah Seall, sseall@bwsgirls.org 

Year 8: Mrs Emine Carter, ecarter@bwsgirls.org

Year 9: Ms Rachel Giacopazzi, rgiacopazzi@bwsgirls.org

Year 10: Ms Jean Stevenson, jstevenson@bwsgirls.org

Year 11: Mrs Chloe Scott, cscott@bwsgirls.org

Year 12: Ms Sinead Buckingham, sbuckingham@bwsgirls.org

Year 13: Mrs Nicky Mitchell, nmitchell@bwsgirls.org

Additional Sixth Form safeguarding contacts:

Ms Kathryn Levey – AHT Sixth Form, klevey@bwsgirls.org

Ms Jane Haslett – Sixth Form Administrator, jhaslett@bwsgirls.org